Tag: Thriller & Suspense

Crude


A short time after two elderly North Dakota farmers are found asphyxiated in their Buick, a New York developer proposes their isolated farm for an oil refinery. The story of the dead body merges with the refinery story causing a personal and financial explosion—New York money versus Dakota dirt; national big-business politics versus Dakota back-fence politics; oil versus agriculture; brash guys with private jets. But Crude is only peripherally concerned with oil. The story is really about ambition, passion, rejection and revenge. In other words, illicit oily sex and illicit oily money.

American Hercules: The Hind of Keryn: A Crime Serial


51rqed9-til

In the tradition of NBC’s The Blacklist and Blackout, Space Buggy Press is proud to present AMERICAN HERCULES, a modern reimagining of the strongman’s classic Labors!

A Lernean Hydra is found ritualistically murdered in Keryn, Oregon, and Nathan Hercules and Catherine Meda are on the scene to investigate. What soon becomes clear to the members of Labor Division is that Henry Echidna’s reasons for being in Keryn are not what they initially appear, and that these reasons connect the town’s founder, Diana Artemis, to the missing Washington Zeus and a mysterious group known only as the Phorcydes Collective.

Back in D.C., Director Landon Eurystheus employs Persephone to spy on one member of his team, concerned there might be a traitor in their midst.

And in flashback action, delve into the history of Catherine Meda and her connection with the Midas Corporation!

Featured Novel (8/92016): Thriller


The Fallen: A Derek Stillwater Thriller

Twenty world leaders meet for the G8 Summit at the beautiful Cheyenne Resort in Colorado Springs. But an ugly plot lurks beneath the surface: a terrorist group, The Fallen Angels, plans to wreak havoc on the Summit.With the Secret Service, the FBI, Homeland Security, the military, and security from twenty different governments on-hand, shouldn’t the resort be the safest place in the world?It seems impossible that a terrorist group could infiltrate the Summit. And yet they do. Within minutes, twenty world leaders are taken hostage, and Richard Coffee, the group’s leader, makes his first demand: release twenty detainees from Guantanamo Bay, or he’ll execute one leader each hour until his demands are met.Only one man can disrupt this plot. Derek Stillwater is that man.Working undercover as a maintenance man at the resort, Stillwater will wage war on the world’s deadliest, most sophisticated terrorist organization, picking off the terrorists one by one-until he comes face-to-face with an evil force from his past, Richard Coffee, The Fallen Angel himself.

Featured Novel (8/8/2016): Adventure


Code Breakers: Alpha

“The best science fiction series I’ve read in years. Reminds me of William Gibson, but with more action and grit. I love Code Breakers!” — Jason Burke, New York SF Reviewer.

The Code Breakers series has been downloaded over 1,000,000 times. Get the first installment for free to join the fun!

Description:
In a post-apocalyptic future, humanity survives within a single city run by a shadowy benefactor known only as The Family. Each week the death lottery claims more lives and Gerry Cardle, head of the lottery, inexplicably finds himself next on the list.

Something’s wrong with the system. A deadly artificial intelligence has breached security. Gerry has just 7 days to live. Forced off the grid, Gerry has to do the unthinkable: willingly leave the city. What he finds in the abandoned lands will shatter his perception of what it means to be human. Everything he had been told before was a lie.

In a deadly world of conspiracies, Gerry has to sacrifice everything he loves in order to save it, and time is running out.

For fans of Blade Runner, Logan’s Run, and The Matrix.

*** Get the rest of the series with these links ***

Book 2 – Beta
Book 3 – Gamma
Book 4 – Delta

Featured Novel (8/7/2016): Action & Adventure


Watch Me DieWatch Me Die

“As dark and twisted as anything Hammett or Chandler ever dreamed up….” Kirkus, Starred Review

“Approaching the level of Lawrence Block is no mean feat, but Goldberg succeeds with this engaging PI novel.” Publishers Weekly

Harvey Mapes is a 26-year-old security guard who spends his nights in a guard shack outside a gated community in Southern California, reading detective novels, watching reruns, and waiting for his life to finally start… which happens when Cyril Parkus, one of the wealthy residents, asks Harvey to follow his beautiful wife Lauren.

The lowly security guard jumps at the opportunity to fulfill his private eye fantasies and use everything he’s learned from Spenser, Magnum, and Mannix. But things don’t exactly go according to the books…or the reruns. As Harvey fumbles and stumbles through his first investigation, he discovers that the differences between fiction and reality can be deadly.

With the help of his mortgage broker neighbor and occasional lover Carol, Harvey uncovers a blackmail plot that takes a sudden and unexpectedly tragic turn…plunging him into a world of violence, deception and murder… and forcing him to discover what it really takes to be a private eye.

(This book was previously released under the title “The Man With the Iron-On Badge” and nominated for Best Novel by the Private Eye Writers of America)

CRITICAL ACCLAIM FOR “WATCH ME DIE”

“A wonderfully fresh voice in the mystery genre, Goldberg will delight fans of Janet Evanovich and Robert Crais,” – Rick Riordan, author of “Percy Jackson & the Olympians”

“Lee Goldberg bravely marches into territory already staked out by some fierce competition–Donald Westlake, Lawrence Block, the early Harlan Coben–and comes out virtually unscathed.” The Chicago Tribune

“Goldberg has a knack for combining just the right amount of humor and realism with his obvious love for the PI genre and his own smart ass sensibilities. […]A terrific read. Goldberg is the real deal and should be on everyone’s must read list.” Crimespree Magazine

“A quick, fun read with a satisfying and unexpected ending. Harvey Mapes is a hero I hope we see in a sequel.” — Phillip Margolin, author of “Gone But Not Forgotten”

Featured Novel (8/7/2016): Thriller


The Emperor’s Revenge (The Oregon Files)

The new Oregon Files adventure from the #1 New York Times–bestselling grand master of adventure.
 
Juan Cabrillo and the crew of the Oregon face their toughest challenge yet when a violent bank heist during the Monaco Grand Prix decimates the Corporation’s accounts. To get the money back, Juan joins forces with an old friend from his days in the CIA so they can track down a rogue hacker and a ruthless former Ukrainian naval officer. It is only after the hunt begins that the enormity of the plan comes into focus: the bank theft is just the first step in a plot that will result in the deaths of millions and bring the world’s economies to a standstill. The catalyst for the scheme? A stunning document stolen during Napoleon’s disastrous invasion of Russia. But two hundred years later, it may be the thing that brings Europe to its knees.

Featured Novel (8/6/2016): Action & Adventure


Blood Codex: A Jake Crowley Adventure

An ancient order.
A deadly conspiracy.
A race against time.

When Jake Crowley rescues Rose Black from assailants on the streets of London, the two find themselves embroiled in a mystery that could cost them their lives. People are dying, and all the victims have one thing in common with Rose: a birthmark in the shape of an eagle.

From beneath the streets of London, to castle dungeons, to the heart of Christendom and beyond, Jake and Rose must race to stay alive as they seek to unlock the secrets of the Blood Codex.

Praise for David Wood and Alan Baxter

“Blood Codex is a genuine up all night got to see what happens next thriller that grabs you from the first page and doesn’t let go until the last.” Steven Savile

“Rip roaring action from start to finish. Wit and humor throughout. Just one question – how soon until the next one? Because I can’t wait.” Graham Brown

“A page-turning yarn. Indiana Jones better watch his back!”Jeremy Robinson

“A a story that thrills and makes one think beyond the boundaries of mere fiction and enter the world of ‘why not’?” David Lynn Golemon,

“A twisty tale of adventure and intrigue that never lets up and never lets go!” Robert Masello

“A fast-paced storyline that holds the reader right from the start,. and a no-nonsense story-telling approach that lets the unfolding action speak for itself.” Van Ikin

“With mysterious rituals, macabre rites and superb supernatural action scenes, Wood and Baxter deliver a fast-paced horror thriller.” J.F.Penn

“Wood and Baxter have taken on the classic black magic/cult conspiracy subgenre, chucked in a toxic mix of weirdness, creepshow chills and action, and created a tale that reads like a latter-day Hammer Horror thriller. Nice, dark fun.” Robert Hood

Featured Novel (8/3/2016): Mystery, Thriller & Suspense


American Hercules: The Hind of Keryn: A Crime Serial

In the tradition of NBC’s The Blacklist and Blackout, Space Buggy Press is proud to present AMERICAN HERCULES, a modern reimagining of the strongman’s classic Labors!

A Lernean Hydra is found ritualistically murdered in Keryn, Oregon, and Nathan Hercules and Catherine Meda are on the scene to investigate. What soon becomes clear to the members of Labor Division is that Henry Echidna’s reasons for being in Keryn are not what they initially appear, and that these reasons connect the town’s founder, Diana Artemis, to the missing Washington Zeus and a mysterious group known only as the Phorcydes Collective.

Back in D.C., Director Landon Eurystheus employs Persephone to spy on one member of his team, concerned there might be a traitor in their midst.

And in flashback action, delve into the history of Catherine Meda and her connection with the Midas Corporation!

THE HIND OF KERYN is part 3 of a 6-part crime serial with the following release schedule:

Season 1: The Hunt for Zeus

Episode: Available
#1: The Lion of Nemea: Now
#2: The Hydra of Lerna: Now
#3: The Hind of Keryn: Now
#4: The Boar of Acadia: December 20, 2016
#5: The Stables of Augea: January 5, 2016
#6: The Birds of Stymph: January 20, 2016

All single episodes will only be available in ebook format. The Collected Edition of Season 1: The Hunt for Zeus will be available in ebook and paperback formats on February 5, 2016. The price of the collected ebook edition will be the same price as purchasing the six individual episodes.

Featured Novel (8/2/2016): Action & Adventure


Clear by Fire: A Search and Destroy Thriller

Inspired by the experiences of a decorated combat veteran and a former member of the 82nd Airborne Division, Clear by Fire is a blistering debut military thriller about an American hero who, in order to clear his name, must take down a team of black ops soldiers that have gone murderously rogue.

Mason Kane was once a loyal American soldier and a proud member of the elite, off-the-books Anvil Program—a group of black ops soldiers who wage war from the shadows. But all that changed when his commander, as a part of a twisted scheme to force America’s continued involvement in the Middle East, ordered an innocent Afghan family murdered. Refusing the direct order, Mason now finds himself on the run, hunted by his former comrades and labeled a terrorist by the country he faithfully served. Relying only on his survival skills and the help of Special Operations agent Renee Hart, Mason must embark on his gravest mission yet: unraveling a conspiracy that reaches all way to the President’s inner circle, and stopping the world’s most dangerous soldiers from completing their treacherous plan.