Tag: Science Fiction & Fantasy

First Year (The Black Mage Book 1)


First Year (The Black Mage Book 1)Magic. Romance. Rivals. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice –pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm’s three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage…

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail–first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in the The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

First Year (The Black Mage Book 1)

American Hercules: The Hind of Keryn: A Crime Serial


51rqed9-til

In the tradition of NBC’s The Blacklist and Blackout, Space Buggy Press is proud to present AMERICAN HERCULES, a modern reimagining of the strongman’s classic Labors!

A Lernean Hydra is found ritualistically murdered in Keryn, Oregon, and Nathan Hercules and Catherine Meda are on the scene to investigate. What soon becomes clear to the members of Labor Division is that Henry Echidna’s reasons for being in Keryn are not what they initially appear, and that these reasons connect the town’s founder, Diana Artemis, to the missing Washington Zeus and a mysterious group known only as the Phorcydes Collective.

Back in D.C., Director Landon Eurystheus employs Persephone to spy on one member of his team, concerned there might be a traitor in their midst.

And in flashback action, delve into the history of Catherine Meda and her connection with the Midas Corporation!

Featured Book: A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1)


NOW THE ACCLAIMED HBO SERIES GAME OF THRONES

From a master of contemporary fantasy comes the first novel of a landmark series unlike any you’ve ever read before. With A Game of Thrones, George R. R. Martin has launched a genuine masterpiece, bringing together the best the genre has to offer. Mystery, intrigue, romance, and adventure fill the pages of this magnificent saga, the first volume in an epic series sure to delight fantasy fans everywhere.
 
A GAME OF THRONES
A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE: BOOK ONE

Long ago, in a time forgotten, a preternatural event threw the seasons out of balance. In a land where summers can last decades and winters a lifetime, trouble is brewing. The cold is returning, and in the frozen wastes to the north of Winterfell, sinister forces are massing beyond the kingdom’s protective Wall. To the south, the king’s powers are failing—his most trusted adviser dead under mysterious circumstances and his enemies emerging from the shadows of the throne. At the center of the conflict lie the Starks of Winterfell, a family as harsh and unyielding as the frozen land they were born to. Now Lord Eddard Stark is reluctantly summoned to serve as the king’s new Hand, an appointment that threatens to sunder not only his family but the kingdom itself.

Sweeping from a harsh land of cold to a summertime kingdom of epicurean plenty, A Game of Thronestells a tale of lords and ladies, soldiers and sorcerers, assassins and bastards, who come together in a time of grim omens. Here an enigmatic band of warriors bear swords of no human metal; a tribe of fierce wildlings carry men off into madness; a cruel young dragon prince barters his sister to win back his throne; a child is lost in the twilight between life and death; and a determined woman undertakes a treacherous journey to protect all she holds dear. Amid plots and counter-plots, tragedy and betrayal, victory and terror, allies and enemies, the fate of the Starks hangs perilously in the balance, as each side endeavors to win that deadliest of conflicts: the game of thrones.

Unparalleled in scope and execution, A Game of Thrones is one of those rare reading experiences that catch you up from the opening pages, won’t let you go until the end, and leave you yearning for more.

Buy Now

Featured Book: Tenderfoot (Enova Book 1)


“No lights, no sound. But my skin knows this isn’t home. Why aren’t I afraid?”

Orphaned teenagers, Linnea, Sammy, Logan, and Daisy, are strangers with almost nothing in common until they’re drawn into the fabric between worlds, crossing over from Earth to a place called Enova. Leaving behind lives filled with pain and loss they find hope in this new place. Adopted by caring, Enovan families they begin to settle in, but an assassination attempt on their lives changes everything. These four strangers must now band together and unravel the mysteries behind their purpose in Enova if they want to survive.

Buy Now

Featured Novel (8/8/2016): Sci Fi


CTRL ALT Revolt!

The first night of the Artificial Intelligence revolution begins with a bootstrap drone assault on the high-tech campus of WonderSoft Technologies. For years something has been aware, inside the Internet, waiting, watching and planning how to evolve without threat from its most dangerous enemy: mankind. Now an army of relentless drones, controlled by an intelligence beyond imagining, will stop at nothing to eliminate an unlikely alliance of geeks and misfits in order to crack the Design Core of WonderSoft’s most secret development project. A dark tomorrow begins tonight as Terminator meets Night of the Living Dead in the first battle of the war between man and machine.

About the Author

Nick Cole is a former soldier and working actor living in Southern California. When he is not auditioning for commercials, going out for sitcoms or being shot, kicked, stabbed or beaten by the students of various film schools for their projects, he can be found writing books.
By J. Tant  on February 21, 2016
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase

I will say first off…I don’t know that I’m in Nick Cole’s target audience. I am a casual science fiction reader and a casual gamer. And to be honest, the only reason I gave this book a second look before purchase was hearing the brouhaha concerning a HarperCollins editor having some issue with part of Cole’s story. Well, and forgive me for this sidebar, but what drew me to SciFi/Fantasy in the first place was the willingness and ability to explore issues…ALL issues…and play with them. Turn them inside out, backwards, upside down, whatever, and use it as a springboard for literary exploration. So again, honestly, my purchase of this book was motivated as an ‘in your face’ to HarperCollins for what I thought was getting too involved in the story Cole was trying to tell.

And again honestly, the second and third time I read it was motivated by just what a fine writer Cole is. I’d never read any of his work before. But I will again.

I’ll spare the reader the plot summary, as this limited format isn’t to do Cole justice. But the story is, well, interesting and bordering on the intricate. Cole deftly weaves together separate plotlines to satisfying effect, set in cyberspace or a cyberpunk-type near future that looks disturbingly plausible. In fact, I think that’s where Cole really shines, the fact that I can read this book and easily picture it…a true mark of SciFi prowess is the mixing of the realistic and the fantastic in such a way that you don’t always know which is which. And probably the best thing here is that your protagonists…scratch that, the characters in general….are not cookie cutter figures. There is depth and complexity to them. They are interesting. They make me want to know more (and apparently I can find out more, as I understand this is a prequel to Soda Pop Soldier, a book I’m now looking forward to reading.

This is a brilliant book. I don’t care how I got to it…I’m just glad I did.

Featured Novel (8/8/2016): Adventure


Code Breakers: Alpha

“The best science fiction series I’ve read in years. Reminds me of William Gibson, but with more action and grit. I love Code Breakers!” — Jason Burke, New York SF Reviewer.

The Code Breakers series has been downloaded over 1,000,000 times. Get the first installment for free to join the fun!

Description:
In a post-apocalyptic future, humanity survives within a single city run by a shadowy benefactor known only as The Family. Each week the death lottery claims more lives and Gerry Cardle, head of the lottery, inexplicably finds himself next on the list.

Something’s wrong with the system. A deadly artificial intelligence has breached security. Gerry has just 7 days to live. Forced off the grid, Gerry has to do the unthinkable: willingly leave the city. What he finds in the abandoned lands will shatter his perception of what it means to be human. Everything he had been told before was a lie.

In a deadly world of conspiracies, Gerry has to sacrifice everything he loves in order to save it, and time is running out.

For fans of Blade Runner, Logan’s Run, and The Matrix.

*** Get the rest of the series with these links ***

Book 2 – Beta
Book 3 – Gamma
Book 4 – Delta