Category: Literature & Fiction

First Year (The Black Mage Book 1)


First Year (The Black Mage Book 1)Magic. Romance. Rivals. Perfect for fans of Throne of Glass, Falling Kingdoms, and Tamora Pierce.

Before the age of seventeen, the young men and women of Jerar are given a choice –pursue a trade or enroll in a trial year in one of the realm’s three war schools to study as a soldier, knight, or mage…

For fifteen-year-old Ryiah, the choice has always been easy. Become a mage and train in Combat, the most prestigious faction of magic.

Yet when she arrives, Ry finds herself competing against friend and foe for one of the exalted apprenticeships. Everyone is rooting for her to fail–first and foremost among them is Prince Darren, the school prodigy who has done nothing but make life miserable since she arrived.

Will Ry survive, or will her dream go down in flames?

*** The first book in the The Black Mage series by USA Today bestselling author Rachel E. Carter. ***

First Year (The Black Mage Book 1)

The Harvard Classics & Fiction Collection [180 Books]


THE HARVARD CLASSICS & FICTION COLLECTION [180 BOOKS] VARIOUS

— 180 Books: 140 Non-Fiction, 40 Fiction, by 115 authors.
— Over 10 Million Words in one E-Book
— Includes an Active Index to all Volumes and 68 Table of Contents for each Volume and Book
— Includes Religious Illustrations

Note: Around 10% of the Harvard Collection titles removed due to morally bad content. See the Copyright page of the Collection for details. We as a Catholic Publisher, cannot publish this content. Thanks for your understanding.

Publisher: Large E-Book.

The most comprehensive and well-researched anthology of all time comprises both the 50-volume “5-foot shelf of books” and the the 20-volume Shelf of Fiction. Together they cover every major literary figure, philosopher, religion, folklore and historical subject through the twentieth century.

Composed of: The Harvard Classics Collection [48 Volumes] and The Harvard Fiction Collection [20 Volumes].

THE HARVARD CLASSICS [48 VOLUMES] 140 BOOKS

Vol. 1: The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin, The Journal of John Woolman, and the Fruits of Solitude by William Penn
Vol. 2: Plato, Epictetus, Marcus Aurelius
Vol. 3: Essays by Milton
Vol. 4: The Complete Poems of John Milton
Vol. 5: Essays and English Traits by R.W. Emerson
Vol. 6: The Poems and Songs of Robert Burns
Vol. 7: Confessions of St. Augustine & The Imitation of Christ
Vol. 8: Nine Greek Dramas
Vol. 9: Letters and Treatises of Cicero and Pliny
Vol. 10: An Inquiry into the Nature and Causes of the Wealth of Nations
Vol. 12: Plutarch’s Lives
Vol. 13: Virgil’s Aeneid, Translated by John Dryden
Vol. 14: Don Quixote, part 1 by Miguel Cervantes
Vol. 15: Pilgrim’s Progress, Walton’s Biographies of Donne and Herbert
Vol. 16: Stories from The Thousand and One Nights
Vol. 17: Folklore and Fable, Aesop, Grimm, Anderson
Vol. 18: Modern English Drama
Vol. 19: Johann Wolfgang von Goethe & Christopher Marlowe
Vol. 20: The Divine Comedy by Dante
Vol. 21: I Promessi Sposi by Alessandro Manzoni
Vol. 22: The Odyssey of Homer
Vol. 23: Two Years Before the Mast
Vol. 24: Edmund Burke
Vol. 25: Thomas Carlyle
Vol. 26: Continental Drama
Vol. 27: English Essays: Sidney to MacAulay
Vol. 28: Essays English and American
Vol. 30: Scientific Papers by Faraday, Helmholtz, Kelvin, Newcomb, etc.
Vol. 31: The Autobiography of Benvenuto Cellini
Vol. 32: Literary and Philosophical Essays
Vol. 33: Voyages and Travels
Vol. 34: French Philosophers (Descartes)
Vol. 35: Chronicle and Romance
Vol. 36: Machiavelli, More, Luther
Vol. 37: The English Philosophers of the 17th and 18th Centuries
Vol. 38: Scientific Papers by Harvey, Jenner, Lister, Pasteur
Vol. 39: Prefaces and Prologues to Famous Books
Vol. 40–42: Complete English Poetry: Chaucer to Whitman (3 vols.)
Vol. 43: American Historical Documents
Vol. 44 & 45: Complete Sacred Writings (2 vols.)
Vol. 46 & 47: Complete Elizabethan Drama (2 vols.)
Vol. 49: Epic and Saga
Vol. 50: Introduction, Reader’s Guide and Indexes
Vol. 51: Lectures

SHELF OF FICTION [20 VOLUMES] 40 BOOKS

Vol. 1: The History of Tom Jones, vol. 1
Vol. 2: The History of Tom Jones, vol. 2
Vol. 3: Laurence Sterne and Jane Austen
Vol. 4: Guy Mannering
Vol. 5 Vanity Fair, vol. 1
Vol. 6 Vanity Fair, vol. 2
Vol. 7: David Copperfield, vol. 1
Vol. 8: David Copperfield, vol. 2
Vol. 9: The Mill on the Floss
Vol. 10: American Fiction
Vol. 11: The Portrait of a Lady
Vol. 12: Notre Dame de Paris
Vol. 13: French Fiction
Vol. 14: Wilhelm Meister’s Apprenticeship
Vol. 15: German Fiction
Vol. 16: Anna Karenin, vol. 1
Vol. 17: Anna Karenin, vol. 2 and Ivan the Fool
Vol. 18: Crime and Punishment
Vol. 19: A House of Gentlefolk, Fathers and Children, by Ivan Turgenev
Vol. 20: Pepita Jimenez, A Happy Boy, and Skipper Worse

Featured Novel (8/2/2016): Literature & Fiction


HOTEL ON THE CORNER OF BITTER AND SWEET

BONUS: This edition contains a Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet discussion guide and an excerpt from Jamie Ford’sSongs of Willow Frost.

“Sentimental, heartfelt….the exploration of Henry’s changing relationship with his family and with Keiko will keep most readers turning pages…A timely debut that not only reminds readers of a shameful episode in American history, but cautions us to examine the present and take heed we don’t repeat those injustices.”— Kirkus Reviews

“A tender and satisfying novel set in a time and a place lost forever, Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet gives us a glimpse of the damage that is caused by war–not the sweeping damage of the battlefield, but the cold, cruel damage to the hearts and humanity of individual people. Especially relevant in today’s world, this is a beautifully written book that will make you think. And, more importantly, it will make you feel.”
Garth Stein, New York Times bestselling author of The Art of Racing in the Rain

“Jamie Ford’s first novel explores the age-old conflicts between father and son, the beauty and sadness of what happened to Japanese Americans in the Seattle area during World War II, and the depths and longing of deep-heart love. An impressive, bitter, and sweet debut.”
Lisa See, bestselling author of Snow Flower and the Secret Fan


In the opening pages of Jamie Ford’s stunning debut novel, Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet, Henry Lee comes upon a crowd gathered outside the Panama Hotel, once the gateway to Seattle’s Japantown. It has been boarded up for decades, but now the new owner has made an incredible discovery: the belongings of Japanese families, left when they were rounded up and sent to internment camps during World War II. As Henry looks on, the owner opens a Japanese parasol.

This simple act takes old Henry Lee back to the 1940s, at the height of the war, when young Henry’s world is a jumble of confusion and excitement, and to his father, who is obsessed with the war in China and having Henry grow up American. While “scholarshipping” at the exclusive Rainier Elementary, where the white kids ignore him, Henry meets Keiko Okabe, a young Japanese American student. Amid the chaos of blackouts, curfews, and FBI raids, Henry and Keiko forge a bond of friendship–and innocent love–that transcends the long-standing prejudices of their Old World ancestors. And after Keiko and her family are swept up in the evacuations to the internment camps, she and Henry are left only with the hope that the war will end, and that their promise to each other will be kept.

Forty years later, Henry Lee is certain that the parasol belonged to Keiko. In the hotel’s dark dusty basement he begins looking for signs of the Okabe family’s belongings and for a long-lost object whose value he cannot begin to measure. Now a widower, Henry is still trying to find his voice–words that might explain the actions of his nationalistic father; words that might bridge the gap between him and his modern, Chinese American son; words that might help him confront the choices he made many years ago.

Set during one of the most conflicted and volatile times in American history, Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet is an extraordinary story of commitment and enduring hope. In Henry and Keiko, Jamie Ford has created an unforgettable duo whose story teaches us of the power of forgiveness and the human heart.